Braustraße (brew street) hints until today to what was the initial use of the area at today’s “Feinkost” in Leipzig.
A brewery was erected there in 1852 by Carl August Friedrich Lange as “Langesche Bierbrauerei” and converted to “Vereins-Bier-Brauerei” in 1857. In the middle of the 19th century, what is now Südvorstadt, was still out of town of Leipzig in 1830 with its merely 40 000 inhabitants. Following the rise of the trade fair in Leipzig, factories were moved south to keep the inner city smoke free.
In addition to the brewery, there was also a dancing hall and beer garden, conveniently located along the horse drawn tram line linking the boroughs of Connewitz and Gohlis. The unfortunate end of the brewery was caused by the start of WWI and its subsequent acquisition and ultimately halt of production after the war.